Coming to Terms

3

14 God said to Moses, “I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’”

 

What is cruelty? What is pain? What is good or bad? The very foundation of our society states that there is a good and a bad. One is to strive to be good while avoiding bad. One is to be virtuous but what is virtue? The universe does not abide by these ideas. There is no proof in the natural order of planets and stars or in the animal kingdom that shows a right or wrong way. Everything has to be true to its nature no matter what that nature may be interpreted as by an outside observer. We have made God that outside observer and made him judge to what is good and bad but is it “bad” if it is your true nature?

I am a sadist. I hurt people and like to do so. I do not like to do so because they enjoy it, I do it because I like to do it.

and yet…

I am constantly being tripped up by the feeling that what I want is wrong. Society gets you from an early age. It gets into your core and twisted and turns and grows like a heartworm. When you try to realize who you are, what you are, who you need to be, the moral tapeworm flares its barbs and clings to your heart. You have to pull it out slowly. You have to kill it with honesty and understanding. I am a horrible person. I like to do horrible things. There is nothing wrong with that because there is no such polarity as wrong and right.

 

Binary Systems Are Dead

When we see the world in one dimension we see the ends, we see the points where our perception stops and think that whatever lives at either end of that spectrum must be diametrically opposed. The fatal flaw in this logic is that we are looking at a two dimension reality. The straight line is in fact a circle. The circle is in truth a two-dimensional view of a three-dimensional object and so on and what we see is far more complicated that it appears. To imply that our definitions of good and bad are anything more than crudely drawn maps of a complex world is not only naive but dangerous.

 

Here Be Monsters

The only thing I know for certain is that I do not know. If I act as if I do I am acting out of arrogance and ignorance. I cannot tell you what I am doing is good or bad. I cannot tel you what is right and what is wrong. I can do what comes natural to my nature. I am like water, seeking the path of least resistance as I find the lowest point. I am following my nature, I am that I am.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

